Nakshatra Puja
Nakshatra Pooja is performed if you are born under the influence of an inauspicious Nakshatra; to appease the God ruling the Nakshatra and to reduce the ill effects of the Nakshatra under whose influence you are born. This Puja is performed to remove the bad effect of planets called as 'Doshan' and improves the future, success, happiness and relationships

Nakshatra are stars or group of stars very far from Earth and they are used as milestones to pinpoint the location of any Planet in our Solar System. There are 27 Nakshatras in all, each having a distinct name and its governing planet. Nakshatra plays a very important role in all aspects of a person’s life. Just like your zodiac sign or the sun sign defines your important characteristic traits, the Nakshatra you are born under dictates many behavioral patterns in one’s persona, including your health, wealth, your body constitution, your nature and other special traits as per the Hindu Vedic Astrology. The placement of the moon during your birth is even calculated with the help of Nakshatra. The moon’s placement, (also known as Dasha and Antardasha), has a lot of significance in our lives. 

Out of 27 Nakshatras, 7 Nakshatras are considered as inauspicious and it is highly advisable to get the pooja performed as soon as possible, otherwise the person born under these bad planetary influence might face various problems in their life.

The 27 Nakshatras begin in sequence starting from Ashwini Nakshatra in Mesha Rashi. Each Rashi falls under 2 to 3 governing Nakshatras, which are as follows:




Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika Nakshatras


Krittika, Rohini, Mrigasira Nakshatras


Mrigasira, Ardra, Punarvasu Nakshatras


Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha Nakshatra


Megha, Poorva Phalg, Uttara Phalg, Nakshatras


Uttara Phalg, Hasta, Chitra Nakshatras


Chitra, Swati, Vishakha Nakshatras


Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyestha Nakshatras


Moola, Poorvashadha, Uttarashadha Nakshatras


Uttarashadha, Sharvana, Dhanishta Nakshatras


Dhanishta, Shatabhishak, Poorvabhadra Nakshatras


Nakshatra Pooja

During Nakshatra Pooja, the God ruling the Nakshatra is worshipped. If you are born under any one of the seven inauspicious Nakshatra, pooja for the particular God who rules the Nakshatra is performed. Here is the list of the Ruling Gods of the seven evil Nakshatra:


Ruling Gods

Moola Nakshatra

Niriti God

Jyestha Nakshatra

Indra God

Aslesha Nakshatra

Sarpa God

Ashwini Nakshatra

Ashwini God

Magha Nakshatra

Pitra God

Revati Nakshatra

Pusha God

Ardra Nakshatra

Rudra God


An important ritual that is performed during the pooja is the jaap of vaijanti mala. The pooja can be performed at any holy place near the banks of a river. It is also important that the Nakshatra pooja is performed at a time when the same Nakshatra is on its on-set for whose Shanti you are performing the pooja.

Puja Samagri

No Description has been added yet.